Shows and Events Calendar

Heartland

April 4 - May 5, 2019

A Regional Premiere

Heartland

by Gabriel Jason Dean

A "heartfelt masterpiece rife with comedic brilliance and the triumph of the human spirit!" -- Broadway World

"Searing ...powerful ...Highly recommended!" -- NJ Jewish News

"A privilege to watch ...You owe it to yourself to travel to the Heartland." -- Out in Jersey

"Endearing, heartbreaking, Heartland converses across cultures." -- NJ Arts Maven

"(A)bout compassion, responsibility, regret, redemption, forgiveness and, above all, love... [an] examination of the human heart... one you will talk about for days afterward." -- NJ Arts Maven

"It is a play that folds complex matters of international diplomacy and Western imperialism delicately into a tender, fraught father-daughter story, doing impressive work to tell a big story." -- NJ Star Ledger

Directed by Ari Laura Kreith

Featuring Kareem Badr, Brian Corrigan, and Lipica Shah

Set Design by Jen Price Fick
Light Design by Jen Fok
Costume Design by Deborah Caney
Sound Design by Megan Culley

Approximately 1 hr. 45 min. without an intermission.

Thursday, April 4, 7:30pm (Preview)
Friday, April 5, 8pm (Preview)
Saturday, April 6, 8pm (Opening Night)**
Sunday, April 7, 3pm
Thursday, April 11, 7:30pm
Friday, April 12, 8pm
Saturday, April 13, 8pm
Sunday, April 14, 3pm
Thursday, April 18, 7:30pm
Friday, April 19, 8pm
Saturday, April 20, 8pm
Sunday, April 21, 3pm
Thursday, April 25, 7:30pm
Friday, April 26, 8pm
Saturday, April 27, 8pm
Sunday, April 28, 3pm
Thursday, May 2, 7:30pm
Friday, May 3, 8pm
Saturday, May 4, 8pm
Sunday, May 5, 3pm (Extended Closing)

A young mathematician carrying a copy of The Old Man and the Sea travels from Afghanistan to Omaha, and arrives on the doorstep of retired literature professor Dr. Harold Banks. Across the world in Maidan Shar, Harold's adopted daughter teaches The Diary of Anne Frank and finds herself unexpectedly in love. Heartland is a magical new play about family, grace, and the consequences of defending an American Empire.

Photo Credit: Richard Wainwright/Act for Peace

Special Events

April 25: Pre-show LunaLit: Exit West Book Club conversation with Rabbi Elliott Tepperman of B'nai Keshet in Montclair
April 28: Pre-show LunaLit: Marc Aronson's Rising Water Book Reading

LunaLit: Marc Aronson's Rising Water Book Reading
Join us for a reading of Maplewood writer Marc Aronson's newest young adult book. Rising Water is the incredible true story of the Thai soccer team trapped with their coach in a flooded cave and their inspiring rescue.

Upcoming Calendar

Apr 4 - May 5, 2019

MainStage
by Gabriel Jason Dean
Special Events
April 25: Pre-show LunaLit: Exit West Book Club conversation with Rabbi Elliott Tepperman of B'nai Keshet in Montclair
April 28: Pre-show LunaLit: Marc Aronson's Rising Water Book Reading

Apr. 22, 7:00 pm

The New Moon Series
by Guadalís Del Carmen

May 20 - May 22, 2019

The New Moon Series

May. 22, 7:30 pm

The New Moon Series

July 19, 20, 27, and 28

A Bilingual Play in Spanish and English